Texas State GOP Convention Highlights Texas Senate Republican Women

May 12, 2016

Dallas  – The Texas State Republican Convention, with over 10,000 delegates in attendance, officially kicked off today at the Kay Bailey Hutchinson arena in Dallas. The convention’s first official general session kicked off featuring Texas Senators Jane Nelson (SD-12) and Konni Burton (SD-10) leading the delegates in the pledge to the American and Texas flags. Senator’s Lois Kolkhorst (SD-18) and Donna Campbell (SD-25) will lead the convention in the pledge tomorrow.

unnamed-1      unnamed
(Senators Huffman, Nelson, and Campbell)             (Senators Burton and Nelson)

“As a father, I hope that my daughter and other young women look to these leaders as role models,” said Senator Bettencourt. “They work tirelessly to further our Republican cause and they are blazing a trail for the next generation of women leaders in the Republican Party. The future truly looks bright for the Republican Party in Texas.”

Senator Jane Nelson was also joined by Senator Hancock and Senator Bettencourt to issue a challenge to help raise money for the Candidate Resource Committee. The Senator’s have set a goal raising $30,000 to help the next generation of Republican leaders. The Candidate Resource Committee provides support to Republican candidates throughout the state and provides grassroots education and campaign tools.

“Many of the leaders around the State got their start at the local level,” said Senator Nelson. “The Candidate Resource Committee is a vital part of grassroots efforts to spread the Republican message to all corners of Texas and further our strong, conservative beliefs.”

Senator Hancock echoed the comments of Senator Nelson noting, “I got started as a local official, as a school board member, and I know first hand just how important this candidate committee is.”

The entire Republican Senate Caucus delegation walked the convention stage today. In attendance were Senators Bettencourt, Birdwell, Burton, Campbell, Creighton, Eltife, Estes, Fraser, Hall, Hancock, Huffines, Kolkhorst, Nelson, Nichols, Perry, Schwertner, Seliger, Larry Taylor and Van Taylor.

The Texas State Republican convention will continue through Saturday, May 14, 2016.

Like Us on Facebook

Texas Senate Republican Caucus Chair Paul Bettencourt (R-Houston) accepted the Faith in Action Award from the Texas Pastor's Council on behalf of Senator Lois Kolkhorst (R-Brenham) for her work in the 85th Legislative Session.

Watch the video below and read the letter from Senator Kolkhorst here:
... See MoreSee Less

June 28, 2017  ·  

Our Texas Senators held their commitment to the needs of their constituents by passing all 30 of Lt. Governor Dan Patrick's top conservative priorities. However, the fight continues for much needed property tax relief in Senate Bill 2 and protection for our children with common sense legislation in Senate Bill 6. Our Senators have not swayed in their determination to ensure Texans get the tax relief they need and will continue to stand to for Texas privacy. ... See MoreSee Less

June 1, 2017  ·  

Follow Us on Twitter

  • The fight continues for much needed property tax relief in and protection for our children w/ common sense leg… ,
  • Our Senators held their commitment to the needs of their constituents by passing all 30 of Lt. Gov.… ,