Senator Creighton Elected Republican Caucus Vice-Chairman

February 2, 2015

AUSTIN — Senator Brandon Creighton (R-Conroe) was elected to serve as Vice-Chairman of the Texas Senate Republican Caucus for the 84th legislative session. As a member of caucus leadership, he will assume the role of assisting with the coordination of Caucus members, communicating Caucus positions in debate on the Senate floor and setting the tone for which issues will be tackled this legislative session.

“It is a privilege to be elected by my peers to serve as Vice-Chairman of the Republican Caucus and I look forward to working with my colleagues,” said Senator Creighton. “I want to congratulate Senator Kelly Hancock on his election as Chairman. This session, our caucus will be focused on the most pressing issues facing our state, from our economy, to border security, Second Amendment rights, education, infrastructure, healthcare, and transportation. It is important we continue to advance conservative legislation through our chamber.”

“Our state is expected to have the nation’s fastest annual job growth rate over the next five years. With twenty Republicans serving in the Texas Senate, I am encouraged that all of us can work together to keep that momentum moving forward. The strength of our national economy depends on the success of Texas.”

Senator Creighton has distinguished himself as one of the most conservative, hardworking and effective legislators in the Texas Capitol, hammering excessive taxation, implementing tort reform, drug testing for unemployment benefits, standing up for Texas’ 10th Amendment rights and blocking Obamacare’s Medicaid expansion. During his tenure as State Representative for District 16, he was elected to serve as Chairman of the Texas House Republican Caucus for the 83rd legislative session.

The Vice-Chairman is the second ranking officer of the Texas Senate Republican Caucus.

SENATOR BRANDON CREIGHTON represents District 4, which encompasses parts of Montgomery, Harris, Chambers, Jefferson and Galveston Counties. He currently serves on the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Water and Rural Affairs, the Senate Committee on Criminal Justice, the Senate Committee on State Affairs, and as the Vice-Chairman of the Senate Committee on Business and Commerce.

Like Us on Facebook

This message is only visible to admins.
Problem displaying Facebook posts. Backup cache in use.
Click to show error
Error: (#200) Provide valid app ID Type: OAuthException

Follow Us on Twitter