Texas Senate Passes Fiscally Sound Budget with Bi-Partisan Support

March 28, 2017

AUSTIN – Senate Bill 1, authored by Sen. Jane Nelson (R-Flower Mound), unanimously passed the Texas Senate by a vote of 31-0 today. The Senate budget is fiscally responsible, funds border security, and places a strong emphasis on our children’s futures. The approved budget is $106.3 billion for FY 18/19, 0.5% below the estimated general revenue budget for FY 16/17.

“The Finance Committee left no stone unturned looking for savings, examining our budget drivers, and looking for ways to make smarter use of our resources,” stated Finance Committee Chair Jane Nelson. “We committed to passing a budget that is fiscally sound and meets the needs of our growing state. Our workgroups labored around the clock, searching for opportunities to achieve savings with the goal of freeing up additional resources to fund our priorities.”

“This is a budget conservatives can be proud of,” declared Senate Republican Caucus Chairman Paul Bettencourt (R-Houston). “It is a budget that is balanced, cuts spending, and ensures Texas lives within its means. That is really important with the tough economic times our energy industry is experiencing across the state.”

Highlights of the Senate Budget:

  • Establishes a $106.3 billion budget for the 2018-2019 fiscal year
  • Does not increase spending, in fact it reduces spending by 0.5%
  • Allocates $2.6 billion for student enrollment growth
  • Provides $3.4 billion for Child Protective Services
  • Dedicates $5 billion to transportation funds
  • Maintains $800 million for border security
  • Includes $40 million to support infrastructure for Texas ports
  • Supplies $25 million for high caliber bullet proof vests for police officers

“This is a lean, but not mean budget,” added Finance Committee Member, Senator Carlos Uresti (D-San Antonio) to bi-partisan agreement.

Senate Finance Chair Nelson formed workgroups to find additional efficiencies within state programs. Senator Joan Huffman (R-Houston) chaired the Articles I, IV & V Workgroup focused on General Government, The Judiciary and Public Safety; Senator Charles Schwertner (R-Georgetown) chaired the Article II Workgroup focused on Heath & Human Services and Healthcare Costs Workgroup; Senator Larry Taylor (R-Galveston) chaired the Article III Workgroup focused on Education as well as the School Finance Workgroup; Senator Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) chaired the Article VI, VII & VIII Workgroup focused on Natural Resources, Business & Economic Development, and Regulations; Senator Royce West (D-Dallas) chaired the Workgroup on Transferability; Senator Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo) chaired the Workgroup on Special Items in Article III; and Senator John Whitmire (D-Houston) chaired the Juvenile Justice Workgroup. Senators Brian Birdwell (R-Granbury), Paul Bettencourt (R-Houston), Kelly Hancock (R-North Richland Hills), Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa (D-McAllen), Lois Kolkhorst (R-Brenham), Carlos Uresti (D-San Antonio), and Kirk Watson (D-) served on multiple workgroups each.


Like Us on Facebook

The time to act is now! Everyday Texans are being taxed out of their homes and their business are barely staying afloat with rising property taxes. Senate Bill 2 (by Chairman Paul Bettencourt) recognizes the obvious, that taxpayers cannot take it anymore. Property taxes are rising two to three times faster than Texans' ability to pay.

The Texas Senate has passed Senate Bill 2, the Texas Property Tax Reform and Relief Act of 2019.

Taxpayers in Dallas have been crushed with an average 55% increase on their property tax bills in just five years with a 15% increase just this year. That is a pattern that is repeating all across the State.

SB 2 offers hope to Texans and as noted by Senator Flores it gives all Texans hope that they will get to keep their little piece of the Texas sky.

Read Senate Bill 2 here:
... See MoreSee Less

Comment on Facebook

Not sure I have a good handle on this. Businesses are paying taxes that they pass on to their customers. Homeowners are paying taxes, mostly school taxes, of which teachers are getting a very small part. So, the legislation is going to lower those taxes by increasing sales taxes so that everyone is paying these taxes, because the legislators can’t seem to figure out how to give less money to people throw it away or don’t deserve it in the first place. (Pause for breath.) This is either very close to what the socialists are spouting, or some of that new math that none understands anyway. (Scratching my head)

Definition of Relief: removal or lightening of something oppressive, painful, or distressing .... So no “relief” just permission to go up a certain amount on property taxes every year without public vote. 😡

Legalize Marijuana and save millions of tax dollars, won't need to raise home taxes

Nothing but smoke and mirrors.

Presidio county has been doubling and tripling theirs since 2013. Highway robbery

I have a special religious liberty message for the Easter Weekend. I am proud of all my 19 Republican Collegues that voted to provide Texas license holders some protection for deeply help religious beliefs.

We were joined by Senator Lucio (D-Brownsville) as well because this common sense law is supported by the vast majority of Texans. Discrimination should not apply to any person in Texas in the 21st Century!

Speaking in favor, elegantly, is Senate Bill 17 author, Senator Perry (R-Lubbock) as well as Senators Paxton (R-McKinney) and Hancock (R-North Richland Hills). Listen to them now and read more about the bill here:

Chair Paul Bettencourt (R-Houston)
... See MoreSee Less

Comment on Facebook

Mark does Kati likes Margaritas let me know

Will never trust a Democrat! They lie.

Good idea. Wish you folks felt as strongly about the 2nd Amendment. But the caucus is clueless and stupid when it comes to representing those that elected you. Caring only about business special interests.

Follow Us on Twitter