Record Number of Republican Committee Chairs Appointed by Lt. Governor Patrick

January 30, 2019

AUSTIN – Lt. Governor Dan Patrick has named a record number of Republican committee chairs in the Texas Senate.  Fourteen Republican Senators have been named Chair of a standing committee in the Texas Senate.  There are nineteen total Republican members. Senators Bettencourt, Birdwell, Buckingham, Campbell, Creighton, Hall, Hancock, Huffman, Hughes, Kolkhorst, Nelson, Nichols, Perry, and Taylor will all serve as committee chairs this session. (a full committee list can be found here:

“Lt. Governor Patrick has appointed a great team of leaders in the Texas Senate that are already enacting conservative solutions to Texas’ challenges that can serve as a model for the rest of the country,” said Chairman Paul Bettencourt (R-Houston). “I would also like to thank my colleagues for their trust in reelecting me as Chairman of the Texas Senate Republican Caucus.”

Unanimously, the Texas Senate Republican Caucus elected their leadership team of the 86th Legislative Session.  Chairman Paul Bettencourt (R-Houston) was reelected as Chairman, making him the longest serving Chair of the Caucus in history.  Senator Brandon Creighton (R-Conroe) will continue in his role as Vice-Chair.  They will be joined by Deputy Vice-Chair Angela Paxton (R-McKinney) who will join the leadership term in her first legislative session. Senator Bryan Hughes (R-Mineola) continues in his role as Treasurer.

“I am thrilled to join the leadership team of the Texas Senate Republican Caucus as Deputy Vice-Chair and look forward to building on the great reputation that the Caucus has already established,” added Deputy Vice-Chair Paxton. Senator Paxton has extensive political experience in Collin County and across the State.

“It is a privilege to be tapped by my Senate peers to continue serving as Vice-Chair of the Texas Senate Republican Caucus,” added Vice-Chair Creighton.  The role of Texas in the success of the United States as a whole is critical.  I will continue the fight to move our conservative progress forward during the 86th Legislative Session. Senator Creighton is the longest serving Vice-Chair in Caucus history as well.

The Texas Senate Republican Caucus is organized to promote, protect and defend conservative Texas values. Nineteen State Senators make up the Republican Caucus, serving constituencies from West Texas and the Big Country to East Texas, and from Houston and Dallas to Amarillo. First and always the Republican Caucus stands for limited government, personal freedom, religious liberty and strong families.

“Vice-Chair Creighton and Treasurer Hughes have done tremendous work to help this Legislative Caucus become such a success, having helped the Chairman raise $341,000 going in to the Legislative Session,” added Chairman Bettencourt.

Chair Bettencourt also announced the appointment of Senator Dawn Buckingham (R-Lakeway) to Chair the Republican Party Liaison Committee for the regular session in continuation of her role as RPT Victory Chair. “All nineteen Republican Senators are already hard at work in the 86th Legislative Session,” concluded Chair Bettencourt.

Like Us on Facebook

This message is only visible to admins.
Problem displaying Facebook posts. Backup cache in use.
Click to show error
Error: (#200) Provide valid app ID Type: OAuthException

Follow Us on Twitter